The Urantia Book
Synopsis of Papers

Previous page Home Next page

A Synopsis of Paper 15: The Seven Super Universes

The seven superuniverses travel counterclockwise in an orderly elliptical procession around the home of the First Great Source and Center. Imagine the grand universe as a wheel, the hub being Paradise, the spokes as the radiations of the Seven Master Spirits, and the rim being the outer perimeter of the superuniverses. Our local universe of Nebadon belongs to the seventh superuniverse, Orvonton. Our planet, Urantia, is near the outermost border of Nebadon, which is currently traveling along the periphery of Orvonton.

The seven superuniverses are divided into ten major sectors, each of which encompass one hundred minor sectors, which each contain one hundred local universes. One local universe holds one hundred constellations. Each constellation consists of approximately one thousand inhabitable worlds.

The Milky Way is the central nucleus of our superuniverse; nearly all of the stars visible to the naked eye on Urantia are within Orvonton. When we look through the thickest area of the Milky Way, we are looking toward the central universe, the center of all things. The rotation point of our minor sector is located in the dense star cloud of Sagittarius.

Paradise force organizers transform space potency into primordial force. They evolve this potential material into the primary and secondary energy manifestations of physical reality. Paradise force organizers originate nebulae, the mother wheels which give origin to suns and solar systems. Some of the larger nebulae of outer space are capable of generating one hundred million suns. The bulk of the mass contained in the suns and planets of the superuniverses comes from the nebular wheels.

There are five major classifications of the spheres of space: suns, dark islands, minor space bodies, planets, and architectural spheres. Suns serve as local accelerators of energy circulation and act as power-control stations. Dark islands of space are dead suns and other large aggregates of matter without heat or light; they exert a powerful influence in universe equilibrium and energy manipulation. Planets are the larger masses of matter orbiting around a sun or other space body. Minor space bodies are comets, meteors, and other small particles of matter.

Three planets in our solar system are presently suited to harbor life.

Architectural spheres are the only planets without evolutionary origins. Architectural worlds are specifically constructed to serve as headquarters for universe administration from the superuniverses down through the systems. Headquarters worlds also function as power-energy regulators and serve as focal points for directing energy into the local universes. The grandeur of Uversa, the architectural world that is Orvonton's capital, surpasses anything known in the time-space creations.

Universe Power Directors are responsible for maintaining equilibrium between matter and energy.  They can condense and expand energy, and can make, unmake, and remake matter in the endless metamorphoses of the universes.  Orvonton seems now to be winding down, but it is not so; nebulae may disperse, suns burn out, systems vanish, and planets perish, but the universes do not run down.

Four circuits of Paradise pervade the seven superuniverses: personality gravity, spiritual gravity, mind gravity, and material gravity. Superuniverse circuits include the cosmic-mind circuit of the Master Spirits, reflective-service circuits of the Reflective Spirits, circuits of the Mystery Monitors, and circuits of the power centers. The local universe circuits are the Spirit of Truth, the Holy Spirit, and the intelligence-ministry circuit.

The present scheme of administration of the seven superuniverses has existed nearly from the beginning of time. The executive branch of superuniverse government includes three Ancients of Days, three groups of the children of the Paradise Trinity, and three groups of perfected mortals ascended from the evolutionary worlds. When a local universe is settled in light and life, it becomes a member of the superuniverse confederation of perfected creations and is eligible for admission into the councils of the Ancients of Days.

The legislative council of each superuniverse capital is known as the deliberative assembly. The seven houses of this council consist of elected representatives from each of the local universes belonging to the superuniverse confederation.

The judicial branch of government in the superuniverses is made up of personnel from the executive branch. The courts of the Ancients of Days are the high tribunals for the spiritual adjudication of the universes. Sentences involving the extinction of will creatures are always executed from the headquarters of the superuniverse; only the Ancients of Days can sit in judgment on issues of eternal life and death. Courts of the Perfections of Days deal mainly with decisions about the intellectual status of the major sectors.  Minor sector governments, ruled by three Recents of Days, are concerned with physical control and stabilization of the local universes.

Each superuniverse has a special function arising from its unique nature. Orvonton demonstrates a combination of love and mercy, and also seems to be weaving the unique purposes of the six other superuniverses into a "meaning-of-the-whole" in the seventh superuniverse.

Urantia is the 606th planet of the system of Satania, the twenty-fourth system in the constellation Norlatiadek. Norlatiadek is number seventy of the constellations belonging to Nebadon, which is the eighty-fourth local universe in the minor sector of Ensa. Ensa is the third minor sector of the major sector of Splandon, the fifth major sector in the seventh superuniverse. Our planet is one of trillions in the cosmos, but it is just as lovingly administered as if it were the only inhabited world in existence.

Synopsis Titles of Papers